Fox Chase Faculty Honored at Spring Meetings

UzzoAt its annual meeting in May, the American Urological Association presented its 2014 Residents Committee Teaching Award to Robert G. Uzzo, MD, FACS, chair of surgical oncology. The award recognizes Uzzo as an outstanding urology program director who is dedicated to mentoring the next generation of urologic researchers.

levyMichael H. Levy, MD, PhD, vice chair of medical oncology and director of pain and palliative care, was selected by the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) for its first ever Excellence in Teaching Award. The award, presented during ASCO’s 50th Annual Meeting in Chicago in May, honors recipients for inspiring and shaping trainees’ practice of cancer medicine.

GrivennikovSergei Grivennikov, PhD, assistant professor in the cancer prevention and control program, was awarded the 2014 Landon Foundation-American Association for Cancer Research INNOVATOR Award for Research in Tumor Microenvironment — a two-year, $100,000 grant — to investigate the role of cytokine IL-17-dependent inflammation in promoting tumor development.

ehyaHormoz Ehya, MD, chief of cytopathology at Fox Chase, received the 2014 L.C. Tao Educator Award during the annual meeting of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology in San Diego in March. The award was presented by the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology.